<rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#" xmlns:dcterms="http://purl.org/dc/terms/">
<rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/5815">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Ayscough Shop]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Handicraft - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Ayscough House (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Woodworking - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard titled &quot;Ayscough Shop, Williamsburg, Virginia.&quot; Text on verso reads:   &quot;Cabinet makers in costume make and repair furniture here.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Curteich-Chicago]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Circa 1942]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection, AVPC-124]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:extent><![CDATA[1 postcard]]></dcterms:extent>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[D2021-COPY-1014-0089 R<br />
D2021-COPY-1014-0090 V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/5744">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Governor&#039;s Palace Kitchen]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Governor&#039;s Palace (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 20. Building 03.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Outbuildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Museum docents]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso, postcard, “Governor’s Palace Kitchen, Williamsburg, Virginia,” printed by the Albertype Co. and published by Williamsburg Craftsmen Inc. <br />
Text on verso reads: &#039;&quot;Aunt Mary&quot; at the fireplace in the kitchen of the Governor&#039;s Palace.&#039;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Williamsburg Craftsman, Inc., printed by Albertype Co.]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Circa 1930s]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection, AV-2000.2.61.]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:extent><![CDATA[1 postcard]]></dcterms:extent>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[D2021-COPY-1014-0065 R<br />
D2021-COPY-1014-0066 V<br />
]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/5723">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[An ‘Old-Time’ Woodworker at Work in his Williamsburg Shop]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Stores &amp; shops - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Handicraft - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Woodworking - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Woodworkers - American - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Postcard, “An ‘Old-Time’ Woodworker at Work in his Williamsburg Shop.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Collotype Co.]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Late 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Late 1930s]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection, AV-2017.7, 67.]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[D2021-COPY-1014-0021 R<br />
D2021-COPY-1014-0022 V<br />
]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/1265">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Lawson&#039;s Tourist Home, Williamsburg, Virginia]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Boardinghouses - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Business enterprises - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Lawson&#039;s Tourist Home, Rt. 60, Williamsburg. Advertised as &#039;just west of city&#039; on US Route 60, with 10 rooms and 5 baths.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[W.L. Slater]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2000-02-06-R<br />
AV-2000-02-06-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/641">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Old Powder Horn]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Powder Magazine (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 12. Building 09.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Powder magazines - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto of a late nineteenth-century postcard featuring a hand-colored photo of the Powder Magazine soon after its initial restoration by the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities.<br />
<br />
The octagonal Powder Magazine is an original eighteenth-century structure and has taken on many different functions over time.  Constructed in 1715 under the orders of Governor Spotswood, the Magazine first served as a secure storage site for arms, ammunition, and military equipment.  It reprised this role during the Civil War, when Confederate soldiers again stored gunpowder inside.  In the late nineteenth century, town residents re-purposed the building for use as a Baptist meetinghouse, dancing school, market, and stable.  Efforts by the A.P.V.A. to protect the historic structure led to its preservation as an early tourist attraction in Williamsburg prior to the birth of Colonial Williamsburg.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1898]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AVPC-386-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/620">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 21. Building 01.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Church architecture - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard illustrated with a view of the northeast exterior elevation of Bruton Parish Church. The photo depicts the church prior to the final phases of restoration work in 1939 that brought the exterior back to its 18th-century appearance. The exterior window shutters and louvered window grills on the church tower all disappeared when architects determined that such elements would not have been used on a brick church in colonial Virginia.<br />
<br />
The caption reads: &quot;Bruton Parish Church. Built in 1678, and rebuilt in 1715, successor to Middletown Church, established 1632. In the Church can be seen three communion services, viz: The Jamestown Service, George III Service, and the Service presented by Lady Gooch in 1686. Also the Bible presented the Church in 1907 by His Majesty, King Edward VII of England, and the handsome bronze lectern by Ex-President Theodore Roosevelt at the same time.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-99-26-02-R<br />
AV-99-26-02-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/541">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Confederate Monument and High School, Williamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Monuments]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 20]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Schools - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard published by Louis Kaufmann &amp; Sons in the early 1920s. It features the Confederate Monument that once stood at the southern end of Palace Green. In the background is Williamsburg High School. It was  located approximately where the Governor&#039;s Palace stood at the northern end of the Green and had to be demolished in the early 1930s as the Palace was reconstructed.<br />
<br />
The stone obelisk memorializing Confederate dead was erected by the Daughters of the Confederacy. During annual celebrations of the anniversary of the Battle of Williamsburg, a memorial observance was held at the monument. Much to the horror of long-time residents, the monument was eventually removed as restoration work progressed.  A court case ensued in 1932, as many residents felt Civil War history and heroes were being overshadowed by the efforts to highlight the town’s colonial history. The obelisk eventually found a new home just outside the historic district at the new James City County Courthouse complex on South England Street. Today, it can be found on Court Street in the Bicentennial Park.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Louis Kaufmann &amp; Sons]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1920s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-1999-29-01-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/540">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Confederate Soldiers and Sailors Monument and Washington Headquarters, Williamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[George Wythe House (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 21. Building 04.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Monuments]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Church buildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard published by Louis Kaufmann &amp; Sons in the early 1920s. It features the Confederate Memorial once located at the southern end of Palace Green in Williamsburg, Virginia. In the background is the George Wythe House, which served as George Washington&#039;s headquarters prior to the Siege of Yorktown in 1781. Beyond it is the structure that housed Williamsburg&#039;s Presbyterian congregation prior to its move to a new facility on Richmond Rd.<br />
<br />
The stone obelisk memorializing Confederate dead was erected by the Daughters of the Confederacy. During annual celebrations of the anniversary of the Battle of Williamsburg, a memorial observance was held at the monument. Much to the horror of long-time residents, the monument was eventually removed as restoration work progressed.  A court case ensued in 1932, as many residents felt Civil War history and heroes were being overshadowed by the efforts to highlight the town’s colonial history. The obelisk eventually found a new home just outside the historic district at the new James City County Courthouse complex on South England Street. Today, it can be found on Court Street in the Bicentennial Park.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Louis Kaufmann &amp; Sons]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1920s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2003-06-57-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/537">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Model School on Site of Lord Dunmore&#039;s Palace, Williamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 20]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Schools - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard featuring the Model School once located on the site of the Governor&#039;s Palace, Williamsburg, Va., published by J.H. Stone, ca.1920s.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[J.H. Stone]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1920s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2001-09-07-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/894">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[George Wythe House]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[George Wythe House (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 21. Building 04.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Historic buildings - Virginia - WIlliamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Architecture, Colonial - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard illustrated with a photo of the George Wythe House as viewed from Palace Green, Williamsburg, Virginia. Created by the Albertype Co. and published by the Williamsburg Drug Co., the card dates to the early 1930s. It shows the Wythe House after its first period of restoration under the  direction of Dr. W.A.R. Goodwin, who resided in the Wythe House during this era. <br />
<br />
Dr. Goodwin added the side porch to the main building’s north façade in 1926 during its renovation as Bruton Parish rectory. Architect Charles M. Robinson, who designed several dormitories for the College of William &amp; Mary, oversaw modifications that included removal of the two-story 19th-century entrance porch and installation of an ornate door surround modeled after the river front example at William Byrd’s Westover plantation on the James River.<br />
<br />
The caption reads: &quot;The George Wythe House, 1755, Williamsburg, Virginia. This House, the home of George Wythe, L.L.D., first professor of law in America, teacher of Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Henry Clay, Edmund Randolph, and Chief Justice John Marshall, member and speaker of the House of Burgesses, member of the Continental Congress and member of the Committee which prepared the Constitution of the United States, signer of the Declaration of Independence, Chancellor of Virginia and designer of the seal of Virginia. <br />
This house was used by Washington as his headquarters during the Yorktown campaign in 1781.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Williamsburg Drug Co. for Albertype Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Circa early 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Circa early 1930s]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2003-06-62-R<br />
AV-2003-06-62-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/527">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Site of the Old Capitol, Williamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 08. Building 11.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Monuments &amp; memorials - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard depicting the monument placed at the site of where the colonial Capitol building stood in Williamsburg, Virginia.<br />
<br />
The Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities (APVA) acquired the site of Williamsburg’s colonial Capitol building in 1897 as a donation from the Old Dominion Land Company. They removed remnants of the Williamsburg Female Academy which stood on the site from 1849-1861. Archaeological excavations uncovered the original foundations of the Capitol. The APVA capped the foundations with cement to provide a layer of protection.  <br />
<br />
A memorial erected in the middle of the excavated foundations in 1904 commemorated members of the House of Burgesses who formed associations against the importation or purchase of British goods. This tablet still exists and was moved to the yard surrounding the reconstructed Capitol building. <br />
]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Williamsburg Drug Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Albertype Co.]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1920s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV2003-06-54-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/5814">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Governor&#039;s Palace Gardens]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Governor&#039;s Palace (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 20. Building 03.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Gardens - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Outbuildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard titled, &quot;The Palace Gardens, Williamsburg, Va.&quot; Text on verso reads: &quot;The Governor&#039;s Palace and its dependencies, preeminent among notable estates in colonial America.  The gardens are considered more typical of formal eighteenth century gardens than any others in America.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Walter H. Miller]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Walter H. Miller &amp; Co.]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection, AV2017.7, 89]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:extent><![CDATA[1 postcard]]></dcterms:extent>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[D2021-COPY-1014-0085 R<br />
D2021-COPY-1014-0086 V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/484">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Old Court House and Foundation of Old House of Burgesses]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Courthouse (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Capitol (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 19. Building 03.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 08. Building 11.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Public buildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Historical markers - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Postcard featuring the Courthouse and the site of the Capitol, Williamsburg, Va., authorized by an Act of Congress, May 19, 1898.<br />
<br />
The captions read:  &quot;Foundation of Old House of Burgesses, Williamsburg&quot; and &quot;Old Court House, 1769, Williamsburg.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[United States. Congress.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1898]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2003-06-49-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/1536">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[The Public Gaol, Williamsburg, Virginia]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Public Gaol (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 27. Building 02.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Jails - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[The Public Gaol, Williamsburg, Virginia.   Back of card reads:   &quot;The Gaol was built, it is believed, soon after 1715.  With the removal of the Capitol to Richmond, the old gaol was given to the city of Williamsburg.  &quot;Debtors, criminals and offenders&quot; found that stone walls could and did make a prison in Williamsburg during the greater part of a century.&quot;]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Tichnor Bros. Inc.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-97-05-01-R<br />
AV-97-05-01-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/1256">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Stocks at the Public Gaol, Wiliamsburg, Va.]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Public Gaol (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 27. Building 02.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Historic buildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard featuring a view of the stocks and pillory when they were located outside the Public Gaol. The platform provided a popular photo opportunity for early tourists to Colonial Williamsburg, Now re-located to Market Square, the replicas of 18th-century methods of punishment remain a favorite camera subject.<br />
<br />
Back of postcard reads: &quot;The Public Gaol, 1701-1704.  This building dates from the beginning of the eighteenth- century and has been restored on its original foundations.   It includes part of the original structure.   The findings of archaeological and documentary research furnished a very complete record for guidance for restoring this unusual structure.&quot;  ]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Tichnor Bros. Inc.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV-2000-02-77-R<br />
AV-2000-02-77-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/483">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Eastern State Hospital]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Eastern State Hospital (Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Psychiatric hospitals - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Hospitals - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 4-3. Building 11.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Postcard featuring the entrance and grounds of Eastern State Hospital, Williamsburg, Va., published by The Hugh C. Leighton Co., Portland, ME, postmarked 1911.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[The Hugh C. Leighton Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1911]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AVPC-648-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/700">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[The John Marshall Home, Williamsburg, Virginia]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[John Blair House (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 22. Building 05,]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Historic buildings - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Part of the Historic Virginia Peninsula series, this postcard published by The Dexter Press is misidentified as the John Marshall House. The image featured on the card depicts the John Blair House on Duke of Gloucester Street.<br />
<br />
This exterior view of the John Blair House shows the residence prior to its restoration. &quot;The John Blair House and Kitchen on the north side of Duke of Gloucester Street was the home of a prominent family of Virginians. The Reverend James Blair (1655-1743), founder and first president of the College of William and Mary, came to Virginia in 1685....The original, easterly part of the John Blair House was built early in the eighteenth century. It is one of the oldest houses in Williamsburg. Town tradition has it that the stone steps at both doors came from the Palace Street theater. The steps were added when the house was lengthened twenty-eight feet to the west sometime during the second quarter of the eighteenth century.&quot;<br />
<br />
(Source: Michael Olmert and Suzanne Coffman, Official Guide to Colonial Williamsburg [Williamsburg, VA: The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 2007], 103-104).<br />
]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[The Dexter Press]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AVPC-215-R<br />
AVPC-215-V]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/533">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Dining Room, Richard Bland Tavern]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of a postcard depicting a sideboard in the Dining Room of the  Richard Bland Tavern published by The Collotype Co. A wall hanging with a blessing written by Robert Burns served as a distinctive feature of the room.<br />
<br />
Early visitors to Colonial Williamsburg could dine, lodge, and purchase souvenirs and antiques at the Richard Bland Tavern.  This postcard formed part of a set that visitors most likely could find in the tavern gift shop. ]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[The Collotype Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV2001-09-03-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/532">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Richard Bland Tavern]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Wetherburn&#039;s Tavern (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 09. Building 31.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Taverns - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard featuring a drawing of the exterior of the Richard Bland Tavern publlished by The Collotype Co.<br />
<br />
Early visitors to Colonial Williamsburg could dine, lodge, and purchase souvenirs and antiques at the Richard Bland Tavern.  This postcard formed part of a set that visitors most likely could find in the tavern gift shop. ]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[The Collotype Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV2001-09-04-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://rocklib.omeka.net/items/show/531">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Bedde and Board for Man and Beast]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Wetherburn&#039;s Tavern (Williamsburg, Va.)]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Block 09. Building 31.]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Taverns - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:subject><![CDATA[Postcards - Virginia - Williamsburg]]></dcterms:subject>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Recto and verso of postcard featuring a bedroom at the Richard Bland Tavern published by The Collotype Co.<br />
<br />
Early visitors to Colonial Williamsburg could dine, lodge, and purchase souvenirs and antiques at the Richard Bland Tavern.  This postcard  formed part of a set that visitors most likely could find in the tavern gift shop. ]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[The Collotype Co.]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[ca. 1930s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[This material is protected by copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code). For reproduction queries: <a href="http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary/Visual_Resources/VisualResourcePermission.cfm">Rights and reproductions</a>]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:isPartOf><![CDATA[Postcard Collection]]></dcterms:isPartOf>
    <dcterms:format><![CDATA[jpeg]]></dcterms:format>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[Image]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:identifier><![CDATA[AV2001-09-05-R]]></dcterms:identifier>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Special Collections, John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description></rdf:RDF>
