Fireplace, Great Room, Market Square Tavern
Detail photo of fireplace in the Great Room of the Market Square Tavern taken by F.S. Lincoln, 1935. The original tavern structure burned down in 1859 but the remains of the original foundations allowed for the restoration of the building to its eighteenth-century appearance. John Dixon constructed the original around 1749 and used it as a combination dwelling and shop. Later additions allowed the building to be converted into a tavern.
In the 1930s, guests to Colonial Williamsburg could rent rooms in the tavern to experience some colonial ambiance. The Great Room served as a gathering spot for conversations, games, and special occasions. A cozy corner of the room for reading or resting centered around a paneled fireplace. A painting from the collection of Abby Aldrich Rockefeller, titled Girl with Dove (accession # 1933.100.3), decorated the wall above the mantel.